Chinese Calligraphy Art

Chinese Calligraphy

I was not excited about Chinese calligraphy to be honest.  It was Monday, all I wanted to do was sleep, I was tired after class and I just didn’t want to do anything.  I was pleasantly surprised by how much fun and how cool calligraphy is/was.  There are over 50,000 characters (letters/words for the lay person haha) in the Chinese dictionary.  I think it is a little overkill but whatever.  I am completely cool with only 26 letters, like in America land of the free home of the brave. 

We practiced for about 30 minutes the 4 characters that we planned on putting in our masterpiece.  The 4 characters ended up translating to peace and friendship which I felt was fitting.  Kinda corny but fitting.  We all completed our masterpiece and everyones turned out pretty good.  Not too shabby.  Mine was clearly the best because I say so and that’s just how it is going to be.  So nah nah nah nah boo boo. 

After we finished, the vice president of the school came in.  Apparently he is a master calligraphists and he made us all a sign.  My name is Chang Xue Wen, translation: One who studies often.  So he wrote out some characters in really fancy Chinese calligraphy.  Which doesn’t even look like Chinese calligraphy cause it is so cool.  He wrote out something that translated to: Never Stop Learning.  It is awesome.  I will upload the picture soon. 

I was very appreciative and incredibly flattered.  That was something really cool that I did not expect and it will be hanging in my room in the states.  One of my treasured objects from China for sure.  It is very cool looking. 

Leave a Reply

